Jaume Pahissa Jo
7 October 1880
27 October 1969
Composer and Musicologist


After withdrawing from an architecture degree, he began studying music under Francesc Laporta (piano) and later under Enric Morera (composition). Thanks to the incidental music of La presó de Lleida (1906), with Adrià Gual's text, he was introduced to artistic circles of modernistes. He premiered La Morisca (1919), Marianela (1923) and La princesa Margarida (1928) at the Gran Teatre del Liceu. He is known for his Suite Intertonal (1926), where he experimented with polytonaity and atonalism. In the 1930s he developed his teaching career: he became a teacher at the Liceu Conservatory and the Escola Municipal of Music (replacing Morera) and wrote pedagogical works. In 1937, he went into exile in Buenos Aires, where he devoted himself to teaching, musicology and orchestral conducting. He composed the Cantata a la tumba de Federico García Lorca, arranged Catalan folk music and premiered the opera Marianela at Teatro Colón (1946). He wrote Los grandes problemas de la música (1945) and the first biography of Falla (1947).

Related Places