Associació Catalana de Compositors

Historical Institutions and Ensembles
Associació Catalana de Compositors
  • Year of establishment: 1974
    Year of dissolution: Still active
    Association of composers founded in 1974 with the aim of promoting contemporary music. Initially, Frederic Mompou was its honorary president, Joaquim Homs its president and it had only fifteen members. The subsequent presidents were Josep Maria Mestres Quadreny, Albert Sardà, Francesc Taverna-Bech, Agustí Charles and Domènec Gonzàlez de la Rubia. Among the most notable contributions of the association, there are the editions of Llibre per a piano (1980) and Llibre per a guitarra (1992). Nowadays the association has about a hundred members and promotes a variety of musical activities.